Friday, September 16, 2016

Guest Book Review: Nine Women, One Dress

By Caryn Strean

As iconic to women's fashion the little black dress is, this new novel will be the same for summer reading.

Nine Women, One Dress features a unique cast of characters whose lives are all affected by the season's hottest dress. The book starts off with a Southern transplant to NYC who wears the dress in her first runway show where she is photographed for a magazine cover. From there on, that dress makes its appearance in the life of a movie star, widower, private detective, and even finds its way overseas in some mixed-up luggage.

But feelings run deeper than how this dress makes these women feel. It changes their thinking and, thus, the paths their lives will take. It is also a sweet love letter to New York City, as we tour Bloomingdales, Grand Central Station, Sardi's, and Broadway.

If you're looking for something short and sweet, look no further. It's a short book with short chapters, and it can easily be read in a day. It's a perfect escape story or a quick read for a change of pace after a heavy book. And though short, I still felt connected to many characters and found myself rooting them on.

I would love for the author to bring these characters back in a future novel. Maybe moving forward in time where the little black dress becomes a wedding dress, or maybe changed from a dress to an item shared among them all. This would also make such a cute anthology movie in the vein of Love, Actually. Really looking forward to what our author does next.

Thanks to Doubleday for the book in exchange for an honest review.

Check out the book trailer:


Caryn Strean is a mom by day and reader by night. Asking her to name her favorite book is like asking her to choose a favorite child. Her friends call her The Book Whisperer. Caryn can be reached on FacebookTwitter, and Goodreads.