Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Book Review and Giveaway: The Twelve Days to Christmas

By Kathryn Hamilton

The holidays are supposed to be a wonderful time of year. Hannah Cumming should be even more joyful. She is going home for the first time in two years with her boyfriend, and she suspects that this lovely boyfriend is going to propose. However, Hannah is feeling anything but excitement. She is keeping secrets and the guilt is weighing on her. On top of that, there are major changes on the horizon at her workplace. Will Hannah come clean? Will she still get the guy? Will everything fall into place at work?

Michele Gorman brings us the delightful holiday novella The Twelve Days to Christmas. For fans of Single in the City and Misfortune Cookie, this wraps up the (mis)adventures of Ms. Gorman’s quirky protagonist. However, readers new to Gorman’s writing need not worry; this story works brilliantly on its own without making you feel that you are missing a huge part of the plot. Ms. Gorman fills in the gaps when necessary, and for readers already familiar with Hannah’s story, it is not a redundant retelling of facts. It is refreshing to hear Hannah’s version of past events now that she has had time to reflect.

The novella is separated into twelve chapters, with an introduction to its theme in the form of one of the more well-known Christmas songs (and I dare you to not sing it in your head while reading the title). This is one of my favourite parts of the novella. It is so simple, yet creative and completely in tune with the witty voice that I have come to associate with Ms. Gorman’s writing.

The tricky thing with novellas is that by nature, the author isn’t afforded the luxury of time when it comes to character development and descriptions. This is not an obstacle for Ms. Gorman. Her writing is solid and smooth, and she draws the reader in instantly. Readers connect with Hannah because she is the epitome of the "every woman."  All supporting characters are vibrant and have strong voices, and they are incredibly likable.

I only have two qualms. First, I honestly wasn’t thrilled about who Hannah is dating. After the way things unfolded previously, I believed she would make a different choice. I warmed up to the idea a little bit, but I wonder if Hannah would have gone another way had Ms. Gorman given her a full novel to explore. Speaking of Hannah, I actually found myself frustrated with her and her “secrets.” I understand that one of her character flaws is that she over-thinks everything, but I felt that she was blowing the situation out of proportion. On the other hand, I wanted to ask her, “Why would you do that in the first place?” Without wanting to give too much away, I suppose Hannah had simply fallen prey to a common mistake many people (but more particularly women) make while dating.

In The Twelve Days to Christmas, Michele Gorman gave to me, a festive chick lit story (try singing that out loud....I'll wait). So give yourself the gift of reading that you will enjoy during the holiday season and beyond!

Special thanks to Michele for the e-book in exchange for an honest review. She also has an e-book for one lucky reader anywhere in the world! (If you can't wait till the giveaway ends, it's also 99 cents for Kindle through December 6th.)

How to win The Twelve Days to Christmas: Tell us something you're looking forward to this holiday season. (One entry per person.) Please include your e-mail address or a way to reach you if you win.

Giveaway ends December 10th at midnight EST.

You might also enjoy:

26 comments:

Booklady said...

I'm an elementary school librarian so I look forward to the time off - a bit of peace - time to curl up with a good book, a cup of coffee (or a glass of wine) some gingerbread and a good book.

deti said...

I'm looking forward to spent more time with my fictional characters and finally finish a script I've been working on. Always with candles and tea.

Nova said...

sparkle40175@hotmail.com
I am looking forward to spending time with the kids...making cookies and other goodies to share with some friends...and having some time to catch up on some reading. Merry Christmas!

Kat said...

I'm looking forward to curling up with my partner and watching a chessy film or some good Christmas TV with a box of chocolates nothing beats it :)

k_duncan21@yahoo.com

rubynreba said...

I'm looking forward to the Children's Christmas program at church.
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

DD said...

I'm looking forward to having the kids home from school for a while. Snuggling all day in jammies while it's freezing outside and enjoying all their new toys!

dawndennis66611 at yahoo dot com

Na said...

I'm looking forward to rest and relaxation with my family. It's nice to just spend time with them and watch holiday movies.

Cambonified{at}yahoo{dot}com

theresa said...

Im looking forwrd to seeing my two daughters opening their christmas presents and having a lovely cooked christmas dinner with my family.

Theresabaker86@yahoo.co.uk

Maureen Timerman said...

I looking forward to the family all being together for Christmas Eve. Can't wait!

Linda Kish said...

I am looking forward to visiting with my DIL's family this Christmas.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Chanpreet said...

I'm looking forward to lots of eggnog, spending Christmas and my mother's birthday with the family.

kaur_chanpreet(at)hotmail(dot)com

bn100 said...

I'm looking forward to all the holiday food.

bn100candg(at)Hotmail(dot)com

bn100 said...

I'm looking forward to all the holiday food.

bn100candg(at)Hotmail(dot)com

Krystal Lynn said...

I thought the same thing while reading this one, that Hannah would choose differently than she did. I was kinda hoping for it. But I'm still a fan of the whole series and Michelle Gorman.

Angela Chen said...

I look forward to seeing my family members that don't live with me. I don't see them often, so I'm very excited to be able to see them again. :D

Angela Chen said...

I forgot to leave my email. Sorry.

animefreak902@yahoo.com

Happy Holidays!

Margaret Literary Chanteuse said...

I'm looking forward to hear about my new nephew's first christmas. Although I can't be with him I can't wait to see the photos.

Margaret
singitm(at)hotmail(dot)com

Bridget O'Neill said...

I'm looking forward to seeing my family this Christmas, and also looking forward to sleeping in my own bed Xmas eve! It will be the first year my daughter will wake up in her own house xmas morning, usually we're visiting family!

Bjoneill@hotmail.com

Sandi Burch said...

I am looking forward to our first Christmas together as hubby & wife - marreid on August 11, 2012 in Destin FL.

Sandi Burch said...

burch.sandi@yahoo.com ~ Got so excited , I forgot to post contact! Have a blessed day!

Anonymous said...

I am looking forward to time with the family!
cdyoungs at yahoo dot com

Mary Preston said...

Catching up with family is always a great pleasure over the holidays.


marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

Anonymous said...

I'm looking forward to spending time with my family.

cat123hen(at)aol(dot)com

Daniel M said...

the big holiday dinner with family - regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

Lee said...

I'm looking forward to hearing more Christmas songs.

Melissa said...

Thanks for participating and telling us what you're looking forward to most about the winter holidays.

Random.org chose a winner from all entries with contact info (one per person).

Congrats to Nova!

Thanks again to Michele for sharing her book with our winner!