Thursday, October 27, 2022

Spotlight and Giveaway: Warpaint

Today we are pleased to feature Warpaint, the first book in J.J. Maya's hilarious and heartwarming new Beauty Shop Girl series. This book is currently 99 cents for Kindle, but J.J. is generously giving away FIVE print copies to some lucky readers!

The next book in this series, Willow, will be published soon. We'll be featuring it in December.

Thirty-something, make-up artist Willow Campbell has the world at her feet. She has never been so happy.

After a whirlwind romance in her hometown of Glasgow, she marries the man of her dreams and cannot wait for her perfect new life in the Big Apple to begin. 

But dashing native New Yorker husband, Rick, hasn’t been totally truthful. 

The bedsit in Queens isn’t quite the luxury Manhattan loft she’d been primed to expect. And how come he’d forgotten to mention the beautiful but scorned Isabella, his ex, who seems to be part of the fixtures and fittings? 

And when the US authorities start knocking on their door shouting about green cards, it seems her picture-perfect dream is shattering piece by piece. 

Can things get any worse?

Will this heartbroken Brit Girl Abroad be forced to return home and leave Rick behind? And give up on her aspirations to become a makeup artist to the stars? 

Find out in J.J. Maya’s hilarious, touching and totally relatable debut romantic comedy which will tickle your funny bone and pull on your heartstrings in equal measure. Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson, Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.


“J.J.Maya's writing style has an easy flow making this Chick-Lit book a quick page-turner. With a unique plot and endearing heroine, this is a great book to curl up with and forget the world for a moment." 
— T N Traynor for Chick Lit Café Books.

“A rollercoaster romantic comedy that is both heartbreaking and hilarious..." 
— Teresa Rodriguez, Editor-in-Chief of Haute Living San Francisco

J.J. Maya was born in a beautiful remote Scottish village. At the age of 19 she went to live in London and has been living in big cities ever since.

She graduated from Glasgow Caledonian University with a Masters Degree in Television Fiction Writing. Her Interiors writing has appeared in Wallpaper*Magazine, The Sunday Times Travel Magazine, and I-Escape.

In collaboration with her American Editor, Amy Tipton, J.J. writes laugh-out-loud British Romantic Comedy set in the USA. As a result, there are endless discussions over the correct spellings of words!

J.J. draws upon her experience working as a Flight Attendant and Makeup Artist as the inspiration for her romantic comedy debut novel, Warpaint. (Bio courtesy of Amazon.)

Visit J.J. online:
Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. If you have trouble using Rafflecopter on our blog, enter the giveaway here

Giveaway ends November 1st at midnight EST.

Enjoyed this post? Never miss out on future posts by following us.

Listen to this book on Speechify!

12 comments:

Suburban prep said...

I do like wearing make up because I feel better as a person. But I have not worn much since Ido not usually have the need. I do not wear it on an everyday basis. When I do wear it I usually always try to have a base and then mascara and a bit of blush.

Rita Wray said...

Yes I like makeup. Mascara is my favorite.

traveler said...

I wear makeup for special occasions. Blush is needed to add color which makes a big difference.

Mary C said...

I wear it for special occasions - lipstick and eyeshadow.

Linda Kish said...

I don't wear makeup at all.

Lindsey said...

I like wearing lipstick, but that is usually the only makeup I wear.

Anita Yancey said...

I don't like wearing makeup. I've only worn makeup a few times since high school.

Mary Preston said...

No, I don't wear make-up.

bn100 said...

yes, no fav

satkins said...

I like wearing make-up I use foundation,blush & lip color

Lelandlee said...

Not for me

Xia Lee said...

Makeup free