Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Robyn Harding's latest thrill ride...plus a book giveaway

We're glad to have Robyn Harding back at CLC today to celebrate the publication of her latest novel, The Swap. Melissa has enjoyed Robyn's previous novels and is excited to check this one out soon. (It's next in her e-book queue.) Robyn is here to share a letter to the version of herself from 10 years ago and she has one copy of The Swap for a lucky reader!

Robyn Harding is the internationally bestselling author of The Arrangement, Her Pretty Face, and The Party, which was a finalist for the Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel. She has also written four novels of contemporary women’s fiction, a young adult novel, and a comedic memoir with an environmental focus. Robyn is the screenwriter and executive producer of the independent film The Steps, which premiered at TIFF and was the closing gala film at the Miami International Film Festival. She lives in Vancouver, BC with her family. (Bio adapted from Robyn's website.)

Visit Robyn online:
Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram


Synopsis:
Low Morrison is not your average teen. You could blame her hippie parents or her looming height or her dreary, isolated hometown on an island in the Pacific Northwest. But whatever the reason, Low just doesn’t fit in—and neither does Freya, an ethereal beauty and once-famous social media influencer who now owns the local pottery studio.

After signing up for a class, Low quickly falls under Freya’s spell. And Freya, buoyed by Low’s adoration, is compelled to share her darkest secrets and deepest desires. Finally, both feel a sense of belonging...that is, until Jamie walks through the studio door. Desperate for a baby, she and her husband have moved to the island hoping that the healthy environment will result in a pregnancy. Freya and Jamie become fast friends, as do their husbands, leaving Low alone once again.


Then one night, after a boozy dinner party, Freya suggests swapping partners. It should have been a harmless fling between consenting adults, one night of debauchery that they would put behind them, but instead, it upends their lives. And provides Low the perfect opportunity to unleash her growing resentment.


Robyn Harding brings her acclaimed storytelling, lauded as “fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six, to this dark and suspenseful thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Lisa Jewell. (Courtesy of Amazon.)


Dear Robyn,

It’s 2010, and you have been publishing novels for six years. There have been some really big ups and some soul crushing downs. While you still love writing, you’re wondering if you need to change direction. A couple of your books have been optioned for film, and you’re intrigued by the medium and the industry. You’ve just started writing scripts. Don’t get your hopes up, baby. It’s going to be a tough journey.

But screenwriting will teach you a lot: about structure, dialogue, subtext, and character motivation. It will also teach you that, compared to the film world, publishing is a picnic! After a lot of fruitless hard work, you’re going to get a film made. It’s going to be an amazing process. You’ll meet famous actors. You’ll get to go to TIFF. You’ll be nominated for an award. Ultimately, you’ll realize that you’re not cut out for the film industry.

In fact, you’re going to think you’re done with writing, that it’s time to try something new. In 2016, you and a friend will decide to open an ice cream shop. You’ve always wanted to explore your entrepreneurial side, and it’s exciting to take on a new challenge. There’s just one manuscript still sitting on your computer that you want to finish and submit. That manuscript is for THE PARTY. And it’s going to change everything.

It turns out, that owning a business is not for you. (You thought writing was stressful and relentless. Ha!) THE PARTY will launch your career as a thriller writer. You’ll enjoy exploring your dark side and you’ll have a new appreciation for the publishing industry. And when the pandemic hits (2020 is going to suck), you’ll be one of the fortunate few whose job is not impacted. After all your experiences over the past ten years, you now feel solidified as a writer. Your imposter syndrome is still there, but it’s significantly less. Because now you know that you have never “arrived”. You have to keep learning, keep growing, and be open to change.

I really hope you’ll still be writing in ten, twenty, thirty years!

Love,
Robyn in 2020

Thanks to Robyn for visiting with us and for sharing her book with our readers.

How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. If you have trouble using Rafflecopter on our blog, enter the giveaway here

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Giveaway ends June 28th at midnight EST.

22 comments:

Burma Turner said...

I love swapping books with others :)

Melissa said...

As an avid reader of books, I love swapping books with others, as well as coupons!

Padmini Rao said...

I’ve heard this book is really good. It’s supposed to be a page turner.

Linda May said...

I love to swap books and clothes with my friends. Thanks for this amazing giveaway.

Donna Shaw said...

This book sounds unique and I'd love to read it. I share all my books with my book reading friends so they can enjoy them and forward them to other readers. Thank you for this opportunity to read and share your book.

Carla S. said...

Books!!

Suburban prep said...

I have swapped clothing in the past but one of the things that we swap now are recipes and then tableware.

Amy Vox Libris said...

I've swapped books, recipes, and advice. I think my favorite thing to swap, though, is wine.

traveler said...

I have swapped books.

Michelle L said...

I like to swap books.

Nancy Payette said...

Books for sure.

Nancy said...

I like swapping books and craft supplies with others.

Nancy
allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

Yasmine Hamandi said...

This sounds great. I would love to read it. The cover looks awesome :)

diannekc said...

I also like swapping books with my Sister and friends.

Mary Preston said...

I swap books and knitting patterns.

bn100 said...

recipes

MiamiKel said...

I swap books and cards! I would LOVE to read this! Its' on my TBR list and it's the summer, we're home, 4 kids - mama needs her reading (quiet!) time! Thanks for the chance and for your kindness :)

Peggy Russo said...

I love swapping books with my friends.

Pamela said...

I have swapped books, perfumes, and collectibles with my friends. It's always exciting to share interests with buddies.

rubynreba said...

Books!

rmarcin said...

I enjoy your books a lot, would love to win a copy!

Linda Marie said...

I like to swap recipes with other people.