Friday, April 13, 2018

What's in the mail...plus a giveaway

Melissa A:
Rush by Lisa Patton + swag from St. Martin's Press
You Me Everything by Catherine Isaac from Viking
The Neighbors by Hannah Mary McKinnon from Thoughts on This 'n That (won giveaway)
My Ex-Life by Stephen McCauley from Flatiron Books
Daughters of the Lake by Wendy Webb from Lake Union
When the Lights Go Out by Mary Kubica from Harlequin (e-book via NetGalley)
The Not So Perfect Mother by Kerry Fisher from Bookouture (e-book via NetGalley)

Jami and Melissa A:
Can't Help Myself by Meredith Goldstein from Grand Central Publishing (Jami got an e-book via NetGalley. Melissa A got a print copy.)

Jami:
Dreams of Falling by Karen White from Berkley (e-book via NetGalley)


Becky:
The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland from Zaffre
Missing Pieces by Laura Pearson from Ipso Books

Sara:
Audacity on the Water by/from L.R. Smolarek (e-book)



What could be in YOUR mail:

A Lady's Guide to Selling Out by Sally Franson

Random House has THREE copies to give away!

A brilliant young woman navigates a tricky twenty-first-century career—and the trickier question of who she wants to be—in this savagely wise debut novel for fans of Younger, The Bold Type, and The Devil Wears Prada.

Casey Pendergast is losing her way. Once a book-loving English major, Casey lands a job at a top ad agency that highly values her ability to tell a good story. Her best friend thinks she’s a sellout, but Casey tells herself that she’s just paying the bills—and she can’t help that she has champagne taste.

When her hard-to-please boss assigns her to a top-secret campaign that pairs literary authors with corporations hungry for upmarket cachet, Casey is both excited and skeptical. But as she crisscrosses America, wooing her former idols, she’s shocked at how quickly they compromise their integrity: A short-story writer leaves academia to craft campaigns for a plus-size clothing chain, a reclusive nature writer signs away her life’s work to a manufacturer of granola bars.

When she falls in love with one of her authors, Casey can no longer ignore her own nagging doubts about the human cost of her success. By the time the year’s biggest book festival rolls around in Las Vegas, it will take every ounce of Casey’s moxie to undo the damage—and, hopefully, save her own soul.

Told in an unforgettable voice, with razor-sharp observations about everything from feminism to pop culture to social media, A Lady’s Guide to Selling Out is the story of a young woman untangling the contradictions of our era and trying to escape the rat race—by any means necessary. (Synopsis courtesy of Amazon.)


“Truly beautifully observed, A Lady’s Guide to Selling Out is a gorgeous treat. Sally Franson’s voice is addictive: whip-smart, biting, and clever. I kept pausing to reread parts of it with a huge smile on my face.”
—Jane Green, author of The Sunshine Sisters

How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. If you have trouble using Rafflecopter on our blog, enter the giveaway here

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Giveaway ends April 18th at midnight EST.

19 comments:

Janine said...

I have had a lot of jobs that were pretty bad. But there was one part of one job that I really hated. I enjoyed being a bartender, but working alone at night was not the smartest idea when it came to closing a bar and having to clean the bathrooms before I left. Let's just say there are some messes that I really dreaded having to clean up. Luckily there was one friend who used to hang out with me most nights and she would clean the bathrooms when she was there.

Kate Vocke said...

I had a job in high school working as a "Consumer Research Test Monitor" for Colgate. I would go in and set up toothpaste stations, with pre-portioned toothpaste smeared on a disposable toothbrush, and then people would come in and brush their teeth and then afterwards, I would ask them questions about the taste and the smell, and the cleanliness of their teeth. Then I'd get to clean up after everyone and set up all new stations for the next group to come in! I did shampoo, body wash, even deodorant! It sounds interesting but it was SO boring and actually really gross!

traveler said...

A job that was extremely upsetting, unsatisfying and dreadful involved data input all day long. Your entire body was crying out for relief as well as your eyes from the strain which they were subjected to. The pay was poor and the hours long. I stayed as long as necessary because I needed the income. Most left after a few hours since they did not have the strength to persist.

Rita Wray said...

I worked at a chicken farm. It was a long time ago so I had to load the eggs into the cleaning machine by hand to clean them. It was not a fun job but I needed the money.

Linda Kish said...

I folded pants in the men's dept of Penney's in the early 70's for a short time. It was really dull.

bn100 said...

don't want a prison job

Storeybooklover said...

I wasn't a huge fan of cleaning hotel rooms. There are just a lot of things that shouldn't be seen. As a first job it taught me to appreciate a whole bunch of other jobs!

Nancy said...

I didn't like working retail in a ladies' clothing store when I was in college.

Nancy
allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

Dianne Casey said...

The worst job I ever had was as an assistant to the VP of a printing company. He was very arrogant and had me doing more personal errands for him than business stuff. After taking time off for, I asked for a trasfer to another department, which was a much better fit for me.

Mary Preston said...

I worked in a kitchen. I stuck it out for 8 months and then quit. I should have quit sooner.

Lesley McIntosh said...

I worked in a hospital kitchen while pregnant and had morning sickness. The job itself was ok but the smell of food cooking was very difficult so I was pleased when I had to leave

Melanie Backus said...

I worked in a dirty, dusty factory once. I always said that it was the hottest place in the summer and the coldest place in the winter.

Cori said...

The guy from Dirty Jobs reminds me how lucky I have been. I appreciate all that do tough, dirty, smelly or gross jobs!

Patricia said...

I’d hate to be one of Sonja Morgan’s interns on Real Housewives. ;-)

rubynreba said...

I worked in a convenience store.

Linda May said...

The worst job I ever had was right lout of Secretarial School, it was my first job & I was there about 2 weeks or so then they called me into the office & said I was catching on to ghe job fast enough, that broke my heart.

Kelley B said...

The worst job I ever had cleaning houses!!ugh.

Tatum Rangel said...

The worst job I've had was working at a fast food drive-thru; it was too demanding. Some customers would ask me to wait because they had to take a phone call--while at the intercom! But, then, there were worse customers. No matter, I've washed my hands from that work.

RD said...

I would hate to be a maid.