Friday, September 25, 2015

Guest Book Review: It Started With Paris

By Caryn Strean

Cathy Kelly's writing reminds me of Maeve Binchy in the sense of being part of these characters' families in Ireland. She can write about their days and make you feel like you are a part of it. I've read a few of her books and this is now one of my favorites.

It Started With Paris tells the story of Katy and Michael, a couple newly engaged at the Eiffel Tower. What I love about this story is how the book tells this couple's story through those closest to them. There's Leila, Katy's best friend and a workaholic nursing a broken heart after her husband dumps her for a younger woman. Grace is Michael's mother, a school headmistress trying to figure out where her marriage went wrong. Birdie is Katy's mother and is still trying to figure out her place in her marriage. And Vonnie, the town wedding cake maker extraordinary, deciding if starting a new relationship is wise after becoming a widow. Through all their back stories, we follow the wedding planning as these characters are there to assist and listen, but mostly learn more about themselves.

I thought it was very clever to tell the story of a wedding through other characters rather than straight on. It added so much depth and allowed us to get into the heads of others, letting the reader determine if they thought correct decisions were being made or not.

This is the perfect read during wedding season, whether you are a part of one, a guest, or related to a bride or groom. Fans of Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern will definitely get swept away in this story.

Thanks to Grand Central Publishing for the book in exchange for an honest review.

Caryn Strean is a mom by day and reader by night. Asking her to name her favorite book is like asking her to choose a favorite child. Her friends call her The Book Whisperer. Caryn can be reached on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

More by Cathy Kelly: