Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Andrea J. Stein is just our type...plus a book giveaway

We're pleased to welcome Andrea J. Stein to CLC today. Her debut novel, Typecast, sounds like so much fun. Melissa is excited to read it soon. Andrea has TWO copies to share with some lucky readers!

Born in Brooklyn, Andrea was raised in New Jersey before attending a small, quirky liberal arts college and a large, preppy university, both in New York State. A book publicist by profession, she lives with her husband and sons in suburban New Jersey. 

Andrea spends an inordinate amount of time taking pretty photos of books. Things that make her happy include strong tea, turtles, sunshine, sheep, and the ocean. (Bio adapted from Andrea's website.)

Visit Andrea online:
Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram


Synopsis:
Callie Dressler thought she’d put her past where it belonged—behind her. But when her ex-boyfriend brings their breakup to the big screen, she can no longer deny that their history has been looming over her all along. 

At thirty-one, Callie Dressler is finally comfortable in her own skin. She loves her job as a preschool teacher, and although living in her vacant childhood home isn’t necessarily what dreams are made of, the space is something she never could have afforded if she’d stayed in New York City. She knows her well-ordered life will be upended when her type A, pregnant sister, Nina; adorable four-year-old niece; and workaholic brother-in-law move in, but how could she say no when they needed a place to crash during their remodel? As Nina pointed out, it’s still their parents’ house, even if their mom and dad have relocated. 

As if adjusting to this new living situation isn’t enough, the universe sends Callie another wrinkle: her college boyfriend—who Callie dumped ten years earlier for reasons known only to her—has a film coming out, and the screenplay is based on their real-life breakup. While the movie consumes her thoughts, Callie can’t help wondering if Nina and her friends are right that she hasn’t moved on. When a complication with Nina’s pregnancy brings Callie in close contact with Nina’s smart and funny architect, Callie realizes she’d better figure out whether she wants to open the door to the past—or risk missing out on her future. (Courtesy of Amazon.)

“A smart, endearing heroine; an enjoyable, entertaining story; and a hopeful, satisfying ending. Callie revisits the past with her ex to make sense of her present love life, making Typecast a fun mix of rom-com and women’s fiction. Full of heartfelt charm, humor, and truth, Stein’s debut is exactly the book I’d been craving. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Josie Silver. A very delightful read!”
— Angela Terry, award-winning author of The Trials of Adeline Turner

“With patience and realism, Andrea J. Stein explores the complexities of first love, family dynamics, and adulting. A relatable journey fraught with growing pains, Typecast reminds us that in order to truly evolve—and find new, lasting love—we must first accept the past and ourselves.”
— Nora Zelevansky, author of Competitive Grieving

“Insightful and bighearted and oh-so-deliciously page-turning, Typecast is like a road trip with friends, complete with detours and surprises and wildly satisfying moments. A perfect next read for fans of Camille Pag├ín and Kristy Woodson Harvey, Stein’s Typecast is a don’t-miss debut!”
— Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of In Her Defense

What were the biggest rewards and challenges with writing Typecast?
I’m happiest when I’m writing.  The feeling of being immersed in my story, writing scenes in my head in bed before I go to sleep at night, is incredibly rewarding.  It’s also been so rewarding to have people enjoy reading the book and tell me how relatable the characters are.  I’m a perfectionist, so one of the biggest challenges was to make every sentence work in a way that felt “right” to me.  

How are you similar to or different from Callie?
We definitely have some similarities – same sense of humor, same love of reading, same taste in music, same experience of not feeling that we “fit” in the suburbs in which we grew up and of finding “our people” in college.  But Callie’s quirky sense of style is very different from mine!  She also knew from a very young age what she wanted to do – to be a teacher.  I don’t think of myself as having had that kind of vision for my career – though I did always want to be an author, so I guess perhaps I did, after all!

If Typecast were made into a movie, who would you cast in the lead roles?
Daisy Ridley would make a great Callie if she can do an American accent!  Richard Madden would be a perfect Ben, with the same caveat.  I’d like Scarlett Johansson as Nina, Zendaya as Tess, Lucas Till as Ethan, and Sebastian Stan as Michael.  Bette Midler would be a fun Lorraine!  And just a small role, but how about Jason Statham as Brett?  (I clearly have a leaning toward Brits!)

What is the last movie you saw that you would recommend?

We just re-watched the Lord of The Rings trilogy, and I would totally recommend them.  Not exactly a recent release, though!

If we were to visit you right now, what are some places you would take us to see?

We’d absolutely have to take a ride to the Jersey shore.  We could walk the boardwalk in Spring Lake and stop at Thunder Road Books, and then get a bite to eat and browse the shops in Ocean Grove.  It’s also the perfect season to go to Loantaka Brook Reservation for a walk or bike ride – the kind of place Callie would go to sketch or take a stroll.  

What is your favorite thing to do in the fall?
Fall is my favorite season – the crispness in the air and the changing leaves.  Oddly, even though I guess technically things are dying, it always feels like renewal to me.  Maybe tied to the new school year.  My absolute favorite fall activity is pumpkin picking – which of course requires the purchase of cider doughnuts!

Thanks to Andrea for visiting with us and sharing her book with our readers. Thanks also to Girl Friday Productions for introducing us to Andrea.

How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. If you have trouble using Rafflecopter on our blog, enter the giveaway here

Giveaway ends September 19th at midnight EST.

Enjoyed this post? Never miss out on future posts by following us.

Listen to this book on Speechify!

14 comments:

Rita Wray said...

Julia Roberts, because I like her. I don't like many Hollywood people.

traveler said...

Mila Kunis.

Mary C said...

Haven't a clue.

diannekc said...

I have no idea.

Toni Laliberte said...

I'd probably have Lisa Whelchel, from The Facts of Life, play me in a movie.

Mary Patricia Bird said...

I've always though Sandra Bullock. She has that girl-next-door look about her along with being beautiful.

Lindsey said...

I have no clue!

Mary Preston said...

Cate Branchett

bn100 said...

no idea

Xia Lee said...

No clue

Lelandlee said...

Morgan Freeman

Cherisse said...

Oh wow I’m not sure.

Nancy P said...

Mary Steenburgen

Tatum Rangel said...

Danica McKellar. Since I was a kid, so many people told me I looked like her character, Winnie Cooper, from "The Wonder Years."