Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Spotlight and Giveaway: The Light After the War

Today we're pleased to feature Anita Abriel's recently published novel, The Light After the War. Anita Abriel writes women's fiction novels under the name Anita Hughes and this is her first foray into historical fiction. Thanks to Atria, we have FIVE copies to give away!

Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, THE LIGHT AFTER THE WAR (Atria Books; Hardcover; $27; February 4th, 2020) is a sweeping novel of love and friendship that spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones.

It is 1946 when Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women must start new lives abroad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight.

But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to change course. Their quest for a better life takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Caracas as they start careers, reunite with old friends, and rebuild their lives after terrible loss.

Moving, evocative, and compelling, this timely tale of true friendship, love, and survival will stay with you long after you turn the final page.


“A finely-woven story of post-war romance, second chances, and resolve that refuses to give in or give up. The setting details are evocative and inviting. Well done!”
—Susan Meissner, bestselling author of The Last Year of the War

“Set against the vividly drawn backdrops of Naples, Caracas and Sydney in the aftermath of WWII, The Light After the War by Anita Abriel is a beautifully written and heartfelt novel. I was completely swept up in Vera’s and Edith’s lives, their friendship, their heartbreaks and their triumphs. An unforgettable story of strength, love, and survival.”
—Jillian Cantor, USA Today bestselling author of The Lost Letter and In Another Time

"Fans of Georgia Hunter’s We Were The Lucky Ones should race to grab Anita Abriel’s The Light After The War, spanning continents and set against a vividly drawn canvas of World War II and the post-war period. Based on Abriel’s own family history, The Light After The War is a heartfelt and memorable tale of family, love, resilience and the triumph of human spirit."
 —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

"I was utterly moved and transfixed by The Light After the War, a beautiful novel that spans a decade across four continents in the wake of World War II. You'll be swept away by this fast-paced, heartbreaking, and hopeful tale of friendship, family, second chances, and the enduring power of love, based on the true story of author Anita Abriel's mother and her fascinating journey away from war-torn Europe in the 1940s. A must-read for anyone interested in the emotional toll of the Second World War."
—Kristin Harmel, international bestselling author of The Room on Rue Amelie


Anita Abriel was born in Sydney, Australia. She received a BA in English Literature with a minor in Creative Writing from Bard College, and attended UC Berkeley’s Masters in Creative Writing program. She lives in California with her family and is the author of The Light After the War which was inspired by her mother’s story of survival during WWII.

Visit Anita online:
Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. If you have trouble using Rafflecopter on our blog, enter the giveaway here

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Giveaway ends February 17th at midnight EST.


30 comments:

JeanneK said...

Love this cover and historical fiction. I’d be one happy person to win a copy to read and review. Thank you for the chance.

Donna S. said...

I am drawn to WWII and Holocaust novels. The most recent one that stands out is THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah. I would love to read this novel and share my thoughts.

Carla S. said...

THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah.

Peggy Russo said...

I love reading historical fiction, especially about WWII and the Holocaust. My favorite so far is The Nightingale, but I also loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Cilka’s Journey and Secrets of a Charmed Life.

Linda May said...

The book I last read was Cilka's Journey and it was very moving read. Thanks for this amazing giveaway.

Tracy Wirick said...

The Nightingale has been my fav WWII novel so far. 😀

Michelle L said...

I loved Dragonfly.

Gingie Gavin said...

I love historical fiction,especially WWII era books.Thanks for the chance to win this-looks so good!

Cherisse said...

I just read German House, love this genre! Thanks for the chance!

traveler said...

I enjoy all WW11 novels and have read hundreds. I would love this book which is fascinating. One of my favorites is The Things we Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer. We Were The Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter.

Elena Y. said...

I love the Nightingale and All the light we cannot see - both are unforgettable.

Nancy Payette said...

The Invisible Heroes of World War II

Jeanne said...

My favorite WWII book is nonfiction, The Hiding Place, by Corrie ten Boom.

Mary C said...

The Nightingale

Jennifer said...

The Nightingale is fantastic!

Mary Preston said...

SCHINDLER'S LIST - Schindler's Ark

holdenj said...

I enjoy this era of historical fiction. I really liked The Lost Girls of Paris.

Angie said...

Wunderland by Jennifer Cody Epstein

jtmswim said...

Would love to read this book - thanks for the chance to win a copy.

Nancy said...

I have always liked the novel The Winds of War.

Nancy
allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

diannekc said...

The Nightengale!

Nina said...

I loved The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman.

Bonnie K. said...

I've read so many WWII historical novels. It's hard to pick a favorite. One that I've read recently that was really good was The Daughter's Tale by by Armando Lucas Correa. Another recent read by an author I like is The Last Train to London by Meg Waite Clayton.

Toni Laliberte said...

My favorite genre is historical fiction, especially set during World War II. Thanks for the chance!

bn100 said...

The Nightingale

rubynreba said...

The Eagle Has Landed

Xia Lee said...

The Nightingale

Lelandlee said...

The Nightingale

arletta said...

I love WWII novels - Snow on the Tulips, Medallion, The Light Over London, Saving Amelie are some of my favs.

Faith Creech said...

I enjoy reading historical fiction. Love the WWII books by Kristian Hannah and Melanie Dobson.