Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Giveaway: May and June books we're looking forward to reading

Every two months, we're featuring EIGHT books we're interested in checking out. (We know there are many, many more, but we're just highlighting a few that haven't received their time in the spotlight yet.) Here are the books we've chosen for May and June. There is one copy of each book available to give away and we will choose FOUR winners to each receive TWO books at random.

See our previous bi-monthly posts for some other great reads you might have missed.

We've been doing this now for a year and hope to keep it going a while longer. This time around, we're going to share a teaser or mini-synopsis of each book. (All courtesy of Amazon.)


May:

Mid-Life Ex-Wife  by Stella Grey 
(May 2nd)

"Nora Ephron meets Bridget Jones's Diary in Guardian columnist Stella Grey’s heartrendingly honest, witty memoir about her online odyssey to find real love in a virtual world."

*Thanks to HarperCollins for the giveaway copy.

After the Fall by Julie Cohen (May 2nd)

"From the author who brought you Dear Thing comes After the Fall--a poignant, beautifully heartbreaking novel about what it means to be family, the ties that bind us, and the secrets that threaten to tear us apart."

*Thanks to St. Martin's Press for the giveaway copy.


The Book of Summer 
by Michelle Gable (May 9th)

"Inside the faded pages of the [Nantucket] Cliff House guest book live the spellbinding stories of its female inhabitants: from Ruby, a bright-eyed newlywed on the eve of World War II to her granddaughter Bess, who returns to the beautiful summer estate."

*Thanks to Thomas Dunne for the giveaway copy.

Crossing the Street 
by Molly D. Campbell (May 9th)

After her ex left her for her sister, Beck never imagined she would live in a suburban town of Ohio, writing erotica, and befriending an 80 year-old neighbor and her eight year-old great-granddaughter. And that's before the crazy stuff starts...

*Thanks to Molly D. Campbell for the giveaway copy.

June:


The Summer House 
by Hannah McKinnon (June 6th)

"When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer."

*Thanks to Atria for the giveaway copy.

City Mouse by Stacey Lender (June 6th)

"It's hard to keep up in a crowd where everyone competes for the most perfectly manicured home and latest backyard gadgets..."

*Thanks to Goldberg McDuffie for the giveaway copy.

The Salt House by Lisa Duffy (June 13th)

"In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy."

*Thanks to Touchstone for the giveaway copy.

The Swallow's Nest 
by Emilie Richards (June 13th)

"Three women fight for the chance to raise the child they've all come to love."

*Thanks to MIRA for the giveaway copy.




How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. If you have trouble using Rafflecopter on our blog, enter the giveaway here

a Rafflecopter giveaway




Giveaway ends June 7th at midnight EST.

37 comments:

Janine said...

A books look wonderful, but The Book of Summer catches my attention first.

April Sutton said...

The cover of The Summer House really draws me in. They all look great though!

Laurice McClung said...

After the Fall

TinaB said...

The Book of Summer

Joanne McGrath said...

I'm intrigued by City Mouse.

penney said...

The Book of Summer
by Michelle Gable and more thanks penney

Anonymous said...

Oh my goodness such a great array of books! My fingers are crossed!

Margie Shaw said...

These all look like very good books. I'm an avid reader and would love to win these!

rubynreba said...

The Book of Summer

cindy roesel said...

I've read several already and I'm about to start CITY MOUSE.... so exciting for Stacey and the small publishing house, Kaylie Jones Books!

traveler said...

I would love to read them all. After The Fall interests me greatly.

Jessica Meddick said...

Julie Cohen's After the Fall. I always love her!

Melanie Backus said...

I am going with After The Fall.

Bonnie K. said...

I'm most interested in The Book of Summer and The Summer House.

dstoutholcomb said...

The Book of Summer and The Summer House

denise

cpr040304 said...

My top three are After the Fall, Crossing the Street, and The Salt House.

Grandma Cootie said...

Crossing the Street and After the Fall. Thanks so much!

Di said...

After The Fall - I was just reading a description of it this morning

Rita Wray said...

The book which interests me most is The Summer House.

Dianne Casey said...

I'm really looking forward to reading "The Summer House", but they all sound amazing.

Tatum Rangel said...

"Mid-Life Ex-Wife"

Mary Evelyn said...

THE BOOK OF SUMMER is on my TBR and AFTER THE FALL.

Of course, they're all great selections. I can always count on Chick Lit Central to deliver excellent recommendations.

Linda Kish said...

You make it very hard to choose by offering such great choices. I would be happy with any of them really. They all sound terrific. Thanks for offering this chance to win them. I'm going to say The Swallow's Nest because it looks like no one else has yet.

Heather Hahn said...

All the books sounds great. I am excited to read The Salt House

MOLLYC said...

Great to have Crossing the Street included!

Susan Slovinsky said...

Delightful giveaway for summer reading. Thank you.

Pam Gardner said...

I would love to win. What a great contest!

Mary Preston said...

THE SALT HOUSE caught my attention.

jean602 said...

I'm most interested in Crossing the Street.

Book Worm said...

I would love to win any of these books, but especially The Summer House and The Salt House. Thank you for the chance.

Jennifer said...

I think Crossing the Street sounds interesting!

bn100 said...

After the Fall

Kimberly S said...

How can I just choose one they all look good, but the ones standing out the most are After the Fall, Crossing the Street, and The Salt House.

Hailey Fish said...

They all sound delicious and refreshing! Book of Summer and The Summer House catch my eye! Thanks so much!

Lorena said...

Mid-Life Ex-Wife and City Mouse both look great. Can't wait to read both.

susieqlaw said...

Mid-life Ex-wife

nana pam said...

The Salt House and The Book of Summer