Friday, March 21, 2014

What's in the mail...plus a giveaway

**Giveaway is now closed**

Melissa A:

Bird in Hand by Christina Baker Kline from Paperback Swap

In the Mirror by/from Kaira Rouda (e-book)

Here and Again by Nicole R. Dickson from Penguin

Amy:


From Penguin:

The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams

Invisible Ellen by Shari Shattuck

Appetites of Girls by Pamela Moses




From HarperCollins:

Vintage by Susan Gloss

The From-Aways by CJ Hauser

The Girl Who Came Home by Hazel Gaynor


Becky:

Carry You by Beth Thomas from Avon

Every Woman for Herself by Trisha Ashley from Avon

The Country Escape by Fiona Walker from Sphere

Turning Thirty and Turning Forty by Mike Gayle from Hodder and Stoughton




What could be in YOUR mail:

Visible City by Tova Mirvis

Thanks to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, we have THREE copies for readers anywhere in the world!

For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, Tova Mirvis’ VISIBLE CITY is an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change.

Nina is a harried young mother who spends her evenings spying on the older couple across the street through her son’s Fisher-Price binoculars. She is drawn to their quiet contentment—reading on the couch, massaging each other’s feet—so unlike her own lonely, chaotic world of nursing and soothing and simply getting by. One night, through that same window, she spies a young couple in the throes of passion. Who are these people, and what happened to her symbol of domestic bliss?

In the coming weeks, Nina encounters the older couple, Leon and Claudia, their daughter Emma and her fiancĂ©, and many others on the streets of her Upper West Side neighborhood, eroding the safe distance of her secret vigils. Soon anonymity gives way to different—and sometimes dangerous—forms of intimacy, and Nina and her neighbors each begin to question their own paths.

With enormous empathy and a keen observational eye, Tova Mirvis introduces a constellation of characters we all know: twenty-somethings unsure about commitments they haven’t yet made; thirty-somethings unsure about the ones they have; and sixty-somethings whose empty nest causes all sorts of doubt. VISIBLE CITY invites us to examine those all-important forks in the road, and the conflict between desire and loyalty.


How to win:
Since it is still Birthday Month, please tell us what age you'd like to live over again if you were given the chance.

One entry per person.

Please include your e-mail address or another way to reach you if you win. Entries without contact information will NOT be counted.

Worldwide. Giveaway ends March 26th at midnight EST.

32 comments:

Wendy Kinsey said...

I would love to go back do 30 again.

pascale said...

First, this book sounds very interesting.
If I could relive an age, it would be 26- I spent a year cooking in france and I was miserable, wanting to be home. I would go back and relive and RELISH that year.

Charlotte said...

I would like to be fifty again.
CABWNANA1@bellsouth.net

Kimberly V said...

I think I would choose 38.

k3kdpv@gmail.com

Carl Scott said...

Great looking book, I'd love to win a copy. I had a great year when I was 18/19. With just a few minor adjustments I could make it perfect. 29/30 would be a good choice too. Thanks carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx

Diana montgomery said...

I think it would be 20. Somethings I would change. I have had a great life just might been a little easier.
Blessings
Diana
joeym11@frontier.com

rhonda said...

Twenties I was a joyous newlywed.lomazowr@gmail.com

JJT said...

My college years. jtretin at aol dot com

Bonnie K. said...

I would like to go back to the age 28. That's when I had my first child and I was still slim. The weight started going up starting then--would like to change the way I ate to prevent weight gain.

bluedawn95864 at gmail dot com

Janine said...

These sound like some great books. I hope everyone has a good reading weekend. If I could go back in time and relive a certain age, I would pick my 30s. I made so many bad choices back then and would love to do it over and make better choices.

kinini01@hotmail.com

Linda Kish said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Linda Kish said...

There are parts of the year I was 30 I'd like to relive but some parts, not so much. The first half was great. The second half, my sister died and then my step-brother did, too. So, only the first half (so I could see my sister again) if I have to relive the same experiences.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

jpetroroy said...

25.

jodi marinich said...

i would have to say senior year in hs so 17... jmarinich33@aol.com

Anita Yancey said...

I would like to go back and do age 18 over again. It was a very good year.

ayancey1974(at)gmail(dot)com

Leslie Rodriguez said...

I think it would be my early 20's. There were some things that I did that I am not proud of, that I wish I could definitely redo, but then again if I did that I might not of had my children whom I dearly love. That's the problem with going back in time.

GoGreen said...

I would like to be age 9 again, when life was carefree and fun.



Bonnie

Melanie Backus said...

Great giveaway and great question! Fifty was good for me so back me up eight years.

mauback55 at gmail dot com

Mary Jo Burke said...

I'll stay where I'm at. I hate reruns.

maryjo(at)maryjoburke(dot)com

bn100 said...

maybe 18

bn100candg at hotmail dot com

Connie said...

I would like to do my mid-twenties again so I could revisit the times when our boys were small and getting into all of their little bits of mischief. I think at the time they are "driving us nuts," we don't sit back and keep those memories in our hearts. My sons are now 42 and 46 and I love them dearly.

Connie Fischer
conniecape@aol.com

collenga said...

I'd have to pick 16! Seemed like nothing could go wrong at that age!

Mary Preston said...

It would have to be 19. I made some bad mistakes that year.

marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

GoGreen said...

I posted above. Click on Blogger icon for email address, please. Thx.



Bonnie

Summer Grinstead said...

I would relive 24 when I had my first born and enjoy it more instead of stressing about every little thing.
sumsum085@aol.com

susieqlaw said...

20

This Chick Reads said...

Well I do love being 34, noone tells me where/when to go and I can drink alcohol as much as I like hahaha Kidding! Ok, if I have to pick a certain age, I'd say 18..I had so much fun in High School, miss my friend so much. Most of them have left the country now:(

Thanks for the great giveaway girls!

love2slim(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

rubynreba said...

I would like to relive my 20's when my kids were babies and toddlers.
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

Jeryl M. said...

I would like to be 30 again.

jeryl.marcus@gmail.com

Tami said...

I would go back to 18 and when I started college. Oh the wisdom I have now!! Imagine the fun I could have back then but also be smart about studying and schoolwork.

Tamileepronske (at) gmail dot com

Melissa said...

Thanks to everyone for participating and sharing what age you'd like to go back to. Sometimes I'd like to relive 18 because I miss my college years and being young and innocent at that time.

Thanks to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for sharing the book with our winners.

Random.org chose THREE winners from all entries with contact info (one entry per person).

Congrats to:
9-Bonnie K
22-Mary Preston
28-Tami

Suzanne said...
This comment has been removed by the author.