Thursday, November 20, 2014

Sarah Jio has "the look"....plus a book giveaway

By Melissa Amster

A couple of years ago, we asked Sarah Jio who her celebrity doppelgänger was. She said Charlize Theron. I can definitely see that resemblance. However, I've found some other celebrities she looks like and have sent her pictures of them in the past. I wanted to share about them today in honor of celebrity month and her latest novel, The Look of Love, which comes out on November 25th. I read it recently and had a hard time putting it down! It's perfect for fans of Love, Actually and anyone who just wants a new and interesting love story. Thanks to Penguin Random House, we have TEN copies for some lucky readers in the US and/or Canada!

Visit Sarah at her website, Facebook, and Twitter. Read her columns at Glamour, as well.

Sarah Jio's Celebrity Doppelgängers

* Kimberly Perry of The Band Perry: Around the time The Violets of March came out and I first met Sarah, I also saw the video for "If I Die Young." I immediately saw the resemblance between these two fabulous women! See for yourself:



Ashley Benson from Pretty Little Liars: When I first saw a picture of Ashley, I thought of Sarah right away and even sent her a picture to show her. She definitely took it as a compliment!

Yael Grobglas from Jane the Virgin: The first time I saw her, I made this Sarah Jio connection. At the same time, I thought she'd be perfect as Jane, the lead character from The Look of Love. (She's not Jane on the current TV show; she plays Petra, the wife of Rafael.) This is a more recent resemblance, so I haven't sent Sarah a picture yet.

* Debbie Gibson: One of her 80s songs came on my Spotify and as I was looking at her picture, I saw a resemblance to Sarah. I went to her website for further confirmation and I realized I wasn't losing my mind after all. I especially see some similarities in this video.



* While she's not officially a celebrity, there's no way you can be a book lover and NOT have been acquainted with Jenny O'Regan from Confessions of a Bookaholic. I was looking at some pics of her recently and definitely think she and Sarah could be sisters. She's also doing a giveaway for The Look of Love. (US/Canada. Ends 11/23.)

Synopsis of The Look of Love:
Born during a Christmas blizzard, Jane Williams receives a rare gift: the ability to see true love. Jane has emerged from an ailing childhood a lonely, hopeless romantic when, on her twenty-ninth birthday, a mysterious greeting card arrives, specifying that Jane must identify the six types of love before the full moon following her thirtieth birthday, or face grave consequences. When Jane falls for a science writer who doesn’t believe in love, she fears that her fate is sealed. Inspired by the classic song, The Look of Love is utterly enchanting. (Courtesy of Amazon.)

Thanks to Penguin Random House for sharing the book with our readers!

How to win: Use Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


US/Canada only. Giveaway ends November 24th at midnight EST.

42 comments:

Janine said...

I can't think of any celebrity/author look-a-likes off the top of my head. But your right, Sarah does have that beautiful look that many celebrities have. Her and Jenny do look like they could be sisters.

Shelby N. said...

I think Polly Williams looks a little like Marcella Valladolid, a celebrity chef on tv.

Jennifer O'Regan said...

What a beautiful compliment! Thank you, Melissa! Great piece, per usual.

Jennifer O'Regan said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Jennifer O'Regan said...

Love you, Janine! xoxo

Janine said...

Just speaking the truth :)

Bonnie Franks said...

I have always thought Sarah and Jennifer look alike. I have a grandson who looked exactly like the little boy in Jerry McGuire when he was young. My mind is blank on current stars who look like other stars. I know there are some out there. Meantime, thank you for the giveaway chance!

Jess said...

I don't think it's a true doppelganger at all (hair colour, for one) but I have been told I look like Reese Witherspoon before - probably because of my chin.

Mo said...

When I was in high school, I was told I looked like Barbara Mandrell. Now I get mistaken for everybody. I think I just have one of those faces that look like everyone.

susieqlaw said...

Especially when I had longer hair, people told me that I look like Julia Roberts and even chew my gun like she does. Also, my piano teacher thinks I look like Katherine Hepburn.

Colleen Turner said...

I remember when I was in high school certain pictures of me looked a lot like Leanne Rhimes. Not so much anymore :).

Sharon said...

Do I have a celebrity doppelganger? I don't think so but I have had a lot of people tell me I look like Kathy Lee Gifford - I don't see it - it's been a long time since I've heard it. I can't think of any others, I'm just drawing a blank.

I totally see the Katy Perry / Sarah Jio resemblance.

traveler said...

I have no celebrity look-a-likes since uniqueness is valued greatly. Many thanks. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

Anonymous said...

Oh gosh! Um, I had a co-worker tell me I look like Sarah Palin. Not sure if that's a good thing or not.

Suzy

Holly said...

I've been told I look like Catherine Deneuve! I'll take it.

AiringMyDirtyLaundry said...

Some people have told me I look like Drew Barrymore.

Linda Kish said...

When I was much younger, people said I looked like Kate Jackson from the original Charlie's Angels.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Rita said...

I can't think of anyone. I guess there's only one me. lol

Arielle Joy said...

Hmm I've been told over the years that I remind them of certain celebrities, but I honestly don't think I have a celebrity that I really look like. That would be lovely though!

Bridget Taylor said...

My husband has been told he looks like Jay Leno.

Iambtinrb@aol.com

Mary Jo Burke said...

My husband looks like Tom Cruise

Susan T. said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Susan T. said...

My chiropractor once said that upside-down I look like Gwyneth Paltrow. Lol!

Katherine Ivan said...

For a while, I got a lot of comments about my resemblance to Monica Lewinsky. I liked the comparisons to Elizabeth Taylor and Elizabeth Berridge (the actress who played Mozart's wife in "Amadeus") a lot better!

Bonnie K. said...

I can't think of any doppelganger between authors and celebrities. I was told that I looked like Caroline Kennedy when I was a teenager---the freckles and hair.

bluedawn95864 at gmail dot com

Hailey Fish said...

I was told by the one and only Melissa Amster I resemble Melanie Lynsky. Sarah definitely resembles Kimberly Perry, Jenny O'Regan as well! I see a little Debbie Gibson.

fishiegirl22@yahoo.com

Allison Smith said...

The most "You look just like..." I get is Patsy Kensit. Don't know who she is? Neither did I - but she's the blonde actress who played Mel Gibson's love interest in Lethal Weapon 2 - the one who gets killed. I don't see it, but I've been told it so many times, by different people, that there must be something.

Anonymous said...

Jennifer and Sarah definitely look like sisters. Alas, I look like no one famous - I must be a unique individual in this world!

Melanie Backus said...

I afraid I just look like me!

Vivian said...

I haven't ever been told I look like a celebrity, but I have been told I look like my mom's sister. Not sure I appreciate that one :)

jpetroroy said...

Maybe Kirsten Dunst for me?

Nova said...

i don't know if i have one or not. only one i was ever referenced to was in high school and it was singer Pat Benatar...i do have a friend that could be a ringer for Diane Keaton...

Christina Pitcher said...

I've been told I resemble Mary Steenburgen. I've always liked Ten Danson. So even though I don't see much resemblance between me and Ms. Steenburgen, I'm okay with the comparison.

Bridget O'Neill said...

When I was in high school a couple of people told me I looked like Shannen Doherty (this was when Beverly Hills, 90210 was really big). Now, not so much!

Diana said...

When I was in high school (many years ago!) I used to be told I looked like Mila Kunis. Doesn't seem to happen anymore ;)

Kimberly V said...

Someone once told me that I resembled Maura Tierney, but other than that, I haven't discoverd my celebrity doppelganger yet.

bn100 said...

don't have a celebrity look a like

S.Sabia said...

When I was in high school people used to tell me that I look like Leann Rimes.

Kristen said...

In high school, I got Sandra Bullock. Now I'm pretty sure she's ten years older than me, yet looks younger. :)

debb1955 said...

About 11 years ago, I was told by several people that I looked like Diane Keaton. I didn't see it at the time and still don't. LOL

Kaley Stewart said...

I get that I look like Lauren Graham. I'll happily take that as a compliment!

Kaley Stewart said...

PS you should check into the rules of Rafflecopter and Facebook. I *think* they changed them over the summer and you're no longer allowed to request people like a Facebook page in order to enter a giveaway. :)